Traditions

Ah, I love holiday traditions 🙂 . Don’t you?

When I was younger, I used to love it when classes would settle down at the end of the year. Homework and tests would be forgotten. Everyone would bring food and candy as a last day treat. Teachers would roll in the televisions. It was magical. But wait…something is missing.

That’s right. My favorite thing about classes around the holidays – beside the candy 🙂 – were the books!

Do you remember when you were in elementary school and they would round up all of the holiday books for you to read? I do. It was like a vacation for my reading muscles. I got to rediscover all of my favorite holiday books.


I used to love putting aside my reading list, and perhaps elbowing a few of my classmates out of the way, for these classics:

Junie B. Jones and the Mushy Gushy Valentine by Barbara Park

Amelia Bedelia Talks Turkey by Herman Parish

The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg

Benjamin’s Box by Melody Carlson

*This one was a part of my family library, but it still counts as one of my holiday favorites.


Just thinking about the upcoming holiday season makes me itch to go scout the library shelves for these books, but a sad part of me says that I probably won’t enjoy them like I used to.

*Sigh* I guess my holiday reading is truly in the past. Unless…

Unless there are some bookish adults out there that know of some good adult-y holiday classics. How about it? You want to help a Dragon out? What holidays books are you reading this season?

And while you’re at it, why don’t you take a trip down memory lane. What was your favorite holiday book/movie when you were a kid?

Leave a Reply

