You Can’t Jog in a Bookstore

 

I’ve got another confession to make: I’ve become a runner.

Well, sort of…not really. I hike for 56 minutes and jog for four one-minute increments, but I’m getting there. I started walking along the trails near my apartment, because I wanted to get out of the house more. An at-home computer job doesn’t lean towards much exercise. Never in my wildest dreams did I think that I’d enjoy it.

My motto was always been: I’d rather read.

Do you want to go to a party? No, I’d rather go back home and read. Do you want to go out and get some pizza. I’d rather have the pizza delivered here so I can read. Do you want to go the part? Um, do I have to…because I’d rather stay home alone and read!

But I’ve found that my morning hikes actually allow me to get more work done. Sure, I might still want to be reading, but I’m beginning to really enjoy my morning outings.

Sometimes I take my earphones and sing along while I jog. (Or dance along the trails 🙂 ). Sometimes I do my bible study before going out and pray while hiking. But more and more lately, I’ve just begun to enjoy being alone with my own thoughts. It’s helped me to organize my thoughts and tasks for the day and, more importantly (yes!), it’s allowed me time to think about my writing. Most days, I just can’t wait to get home from my walk and open my laptop to write.

It’s fantastic! I knew that ideas usually hit writers when they can’t write them down, but this is something else entirely.  Did anyone else know that getting out into nature and exercising could jog the imagination so much, and if so, why didn’t you tell me?

Of course, many days (like today), I can’t just open up my laptop and start writing whatever I want. I do have to work. But jotting down a few hurried notes before opening my email is almost just as satisfying. 😉

I don’t think I’m going to become an exercise nut anytime soon…or ever. But I have gained a new apparition for nature. After all, you can’t jog in a bookstore…

Or see a deer. For fun, I’ve included some pictures of the trails near my home.

I want to know if anyone else has experience this feeling before. Is there something else that you enjoy doing that helps to relax you and exercise your imagination?


20161105_162009.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

