Which is Worse: Quitting a Book or Quitting a Series?

I hope y’all enjoyed fairy tale week. Now back to business as usual.

I want to know if it is worse to quit a book or quit a series. Some of you might say that both are pretty bad. Let me phrase it a different way: Which is harder?

For me, quitting a series is definitively worse and harder. That doesn’t mean I’ve never done it. Honestly, it is a tad easier if the series has more than five books.. If we’re talking about a three or four book series, then it becomes a contest of wills. Do I really want to know what happens in the end? Can I stomach it for that long? If I can tell that it’s getting harder and harder to stay interested in the series, then I might cut off which books I buy.

For instance, don’t shoot me, but I only own the first two books in the Divergent series and I only own the first paperback in the Inkheart series (although I do own the other two e-books.) I don’t read a lot of longer series these days, but I’ve found them harder to pick up and put down in the past.

At some point, I just decided that I wanted to finish these series, but I didn’t want to devout shelf space to them. I’ve admitted it in the past, but I can be a bit of a shelf snob. I only have so much room for a personal library.

It’s really hard for me to stop reading a book. I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’ve given a few books pretty low ratings and reviews on the site. Why didn’t I just stop reading them? If a book is not catching my attention at all, then I see no point in reading it. If, however, at least a portion of my attention is being caught, I’d say at least 40%, and I can find something to get excited about, then it might be worth it to just finish the book. I can always decide to not finish the rest of the series or books written by the author later. You have to push through some reads or you’ll never learn what you don’t like.

However, I do not feel obligated to ever finish a book or series that can’t capture my imagination. I’d say that it’s harder for me to stop reading a single book, and it’s personally worse if I can’t finish it. But I don’t condemn either one..

Ultimately, that decision is up to you.

What are your thoughts?

 

Leave a Reply

