Quotes for the Book Readers Heart #2

It’s time for another round of Inspirational Quotes.

What is the topic this time? Let me roll my wheel here: Classic Literature.

The wheel has spoken. Here are some quotes from Classic Literature that have touched my heart. I hope they touch your heart, too. As always, feel free to comment. I want to know if one of these is your favorite quote, if I’ve missed something, if you want to see a list on a particular topic, etc.

  1. Tom said to himself that it was not such a hollow world, after all. He had discovered a great law of human action, without knowing it — namely, that in order to make a man or a boy covet a thing, it is only necessary to make the thing difficult to attain. –The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
  2. “Why did you do all this for me?” he asked. “I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.”                  “You have been my friend,” replied Charlotte. “That in itself is a tremendous thing.” –Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  3. “I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what.” –To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  4. “Anything worth dying for,” said Nately, “is certainly worth living for.” –Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  5. All grown-ups were once children…but only few of them remember it. –The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  6. It’s so much darker when a light goes out than it would have been if it had never shone. –The Winter of Our Discontent by John Steinbeck
  7. “Words can be like X-rays if you use them properly — they’ll go through anything. You read and you’re pierced.” –A Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  8. “It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step on to the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” –The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein
  9. And so with the sunshine and the great burst of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer. –The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  10. “Beware of the man who works hard to learning something, learns it, and finds himself no wiser than before.” –Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
  11. I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain. –Dune by Frank Herbert
  12. Perhaps a lunatic was simply a minority of one. –1984 by George Orwell
  13. This hill, though high, I cover to ascend;                       The difficult will not me offend.                                        For I perceive the way to life lies here.                            Come, pluck up, heart; let’s neither faint nor fear.    Better, though difficult, the right way to go,                Than wrong, though easy, where the end is woe.                   –The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan
  14. We did everything adults would do. What went wrong?” –Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  15. Life is infinitely stranger than anything which the mind of man could invent. –The Complete Works of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Leave a Reply

