Book Fangirling Award

Thank you, Tash, for nominating me for the Book Fangirling Award.

Here’s a link to Tash’s site. Y’all should really check it out:

https://thebookiemonsters.wordpress.com/

I’m new to blogging. I’m still kind of freaking out about being nominated for an award, but I’ll try to push past that.

blogawardbutton


Rules

  • Create a post to accept your award.
  • Answer the questions I have at the end.
  • Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers.
  • Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees.

Below you’ll see my answers to Tash’s questions and my own set of questions:

Tash’s Questions

  1. You can only read one book for the rest of your life. Which book would it be and why?  This is such a hard question! I think if someone asked me this question, my answer would change every five minutes. My classic responses would be a Harry Potter book, The Host, or C.S. Lewis’ complete masterpieces. However, I’m just going to take a chance and say: The Princess Academy by Shannon Hale. Shannon Hale has the amazing ability to turn classic tales into something completely new…I really mean completely new. She has many wonderful books that are tied to old fairy tales. The Princess Academy is the first book of hers that I read that pulled on the tropes of fairy tales, and yet wasn’t influenced by a single tale. The mystery, the heroine, the strength, the drama, the romance…all within a blistery mountain landscape that I’m sure would keep me cool on whatever desert island I’m stranded on. Yep, I’m sticking with The Princess Academy…for now 🙂 .
  2. Do you have a literary crush? Yes, yes I do, but I don’t know if I should tell you this secret…Oh, alright. I guess it’s not really a secret. I loooove Ian from The Host. Not like – love! I can’t explain it. He’s quiet and steady, and yet he’s also strong. He doesn’t like picking fights – he doesn’t erupt constantly like a volcano – but he will do anything to protect those he loves. He’s super loyal and an open book to his friends, but you definitely don’t want to mess with him. On a personal note, I almost feinted one day when I realized that I totally married Ian’s real life counterpart. (Love you, Hon! And I love embarrassing you! 😉 )
  3. Your favorite character has come to life and he/she has managed to acquire a magic carpet! Who is this character and where do you decide to go on your magic carpet ride? For that reason, I’m going to leave my crush alone for this question. I think I’d really like to get the chance to meet J.K. Rowling’s Hermione. Of course, we’re going on a journey to find the lost library of Alexandria. I would hop on that magic carpet in a heartbeat!
  4. If you could open your own bookshop what would you call it and what would be one cool/quirky/unique thing about it? I would love to open my own bookshop. I would have already done that if I lived in an area that needed one and had the money to open one or, you know, any business sense 🙂 . But I think I’d like to open it in a vacation town that liked fantasy or eccentric shops. Then I’d name it “The Golden Dragon’s Library.” I would totally spend weeks turning it into a fairy tale land with trees everywhere and reading chair mushrooms and a store front that looks like a book opening. Then I could get people who sell fantasy decor to help decorate the place with like hanging stuff for the trees, fairy homes, dragon paintings…you know, stuff like that. Is anyone interested in being my business partner?
  5. You’re off to fight in a battle. Which magical creature would you charge into battle with and why? Um, a dragon, duhhh! That way I could hope on the dragon’s back and focus on fighting from up there while he took care of everything on the ground. I could practice archery so  we could fly above the battle and take out people. Then I could use my dragon friend’s brute strength to take out machines and squash people. It would be awesome! Nobody would stand in our way! Mwwwahhhhhhhh

Okay guys, here are my questions:

1. You can enter the world of one of your favorite books. You have the choice of either becoming one of the existing characters or you can enter the world as yourself. However, you have to have a specific purpose or quest. Who are you and what are you doing?

2. I don’t know if y’all have heard of this, but I love it: Someone asked a man what he was doing. He replied, “I just finished watching a movie where a man’s wife is brutally killed by a serial killer and his son is left physically disabled. In a twisted turn of events, his son is kidnapped and he has to chase the kidnapper thousands of miles with a mentally disabled woman…It was Finding Nemo.”—Isn’t that description hilarious and awesome and just shocking. I want you to try to describe your favorite book in a similar way.

3. Take the last two books that you read and combine the plots. Try to make it as plausible and seamless as possible.

4. What is the one character that you have identified personally with and why?

5. Do you prefer classic fairy tales that are told for their morals, or do you prefer modern fairy tales that are filled with the innocence and light of childhood? (I think you can tell my choice 😉 .)


I nominate these bloggers for the Book Fangirling Award:

Novelacious: https://novelacious.wordpress.com/

Diedra: https://deidraalexander.com/

Ramblings of a BookWorm: https://hopethatanchorsmysoul.wordpress.com/

A Thousand and One Lives: https://clhodgson.wordpress.com/

Voracious: https://wearevoracious.wordpress.com

Make sure to link to my site when you accept your nomination!

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

