When You Lose A Piece of Yourself

I’ve made a lot of excuses for why I haven’t been able to get the library for a few months. I’ve been busy with wedding plans…I’ve had a lot of freelance work…I had to pack and move multiple times…my husband actually expects me to talk to him instead of reading all day…I’ve been sick a lot…and, most recently, I’ve had to use my reading time for my internship. All of these are true, however, I have still been able to preserve some free reading time.

So what’s the real reason I haven’t visited my new local library? *drum roll please*

I’ve been re-reading the Harry Potter series!

The series has been collecting dust on my shelf for years. I don’t know what inspired me to pick them up again. Maybe it was the announcement of the new Harry Potter movie series, or maybe something inside of me just said it was time.

I’m sorry to say that I had to struggle through the first book. I’m not 12 years old, after all. I suppose it’s understandable that a twelve year old’s perspective doesn’t immediately catch my attention anymore. By the time the Mirror gave Harry the Stone, however, I was hooked!

*Que the photo of me reading the fifth Harry Potter book when I’m supposed to be getting ready for my wedding*

Quinn-40

It has taken me all the majority of this year to get through the first part of the series, but now, as I’m abut to open the seventh book for the first time in years, I can’t believe that I haven’t done this sooner!

There is nothing more magical than finding a new favorite book. I won’t argue with that truth. But  there is something magical that happens when you become attached a book. You leave a part of yourself behind in its pages. For some people, it may be enough to just keep their favorite books on a shelf to look at. For others, they have to revisit their favorite books.

I’m definitely one of those people. But then again, I’ve been known to watch favorite movie scenes over and over again. So I might be crazy…but I don’t think I’m the only one.

Do you know the feeling I described earlier. The feeling of “leaving a part of yourself behind” in a book. As I’ve reread the Harry Potter series, I’ve tried to picture myself reading them for the first time. (I’m so jealous of that Melody.) I’ve gotten of memories…ghosts of emotions…snippets of old arguments with fellow Harry Potter nerds 🙂 . The part of me that will always love Harry Potter has come alive again. I had almost forgotten it was there. I mean, the movies are still playing everywhere, but they just aren’t the same.

And if I may make on more observation: What’s the use of keeping your favorite books around if you don’t intend to pick them back up one day? Do you just like feeling the covers or showing them off to your friends? That’s not really my style.

So have you felt that way about one of your favorite books or series? Do you love to revisit your favorite fictional worlds? Which ones? How often do you reread books?

Or do you think I really am crazy and rereading books is a waste of time? Do you just feel like you never have the time or do you have a stronger reason for disagreeing with me?

I want to know your thoughts.

*For my friends who clicked on my Facebook link and don’t know anything about WordPress–you can leave a comment, too. Just click comment! It’s that simple!*

5 thoughts on “When You Lose A Piece of Yourself

  1. How can you still be interested in Harry Potter? Didn’t they come out 15 years ago? Are they really still that interesting? How many times have you actually reread them? You’ll never find another series you like if you just keep reading your old ones you know.

    Like

    1. Blasphemy!! You didn’t grow up reading Harry Potter, so I’ll forgive you. I’m not sure other Harry Potter fans will be so genours, though. Honestly, what kind of question is that?

      Instead of worrying about the fact that you haven’t had to buy me any more books, Dear Husband, I think you should be turning a wary eye to your bookcase, which has two full shelves of books that you bought and haven’t read…and probably never will. ;-P

      I hope that wasn’t too harsh 😦 . I love you, Kevin

      Like

    2. And I’ve only read the series three times!

      1. When each book first came out.
      2. Books 1-6 in anticipation for the final book.
      3. And now.

      I think that’s reasonable!

      Like

  2. I love rereading books! I’m glad someone else understands. While there is something amazing about being surprised by a new book, I also love going back and noticing new things, seeing how plots are tied together and visiting old friends. I have read all the Harry Potter books 5 or 6 times (and sobbed when Dobby died every time), Narnia at least that many times (Can we discuss how tragic the Last Battle is??). I’ve read Laura Ingalls’ books more times than that. There is a series by Brandon Sanderson called Mistborn I have both listened to on audio book and read. He has another series called The Stormlighet Archives I think you would like. Jasper Fford has a great series about Thursday Next,a book detective that lives inside literature, I love and have read several times. I don’t know how people can read books just once!

    Like

    1. Yep, I’m right there with you. I knew I wasn’t alone! Have you heard about silent reading parties? They sound really awesome! I think you’d like them!

      That author sounds familiar, but I’m pretty sure I haven’t’ read the Mistborn series. I’ll have to check it out 🙂 Thanks!

      And, finally, *thank you* for reminding me about Dobby’s death again. That is still a hard scene for me to live through. I have to go find a tissue box right now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

