The Dragon’s Library

 

20160512_143020

I created this blog so that I could have a place to share my nerdy thoughts and opinions, and provide a place for my nerdy friends to discuss books and writing.

If you know me, you know that I have a very small personal library. I recognize the importance of literature as a whole and I will certainly not turn down a discussion on anything literature related. However, my own glittering horde of books is mostly comprised of YA dystopians and fantasy.

I have comprised some lists of my favorite book titles to help you get to know me and my personal literacy style. I challenge you to challenge me. Ask me who, what, where, when and why about my library! And please share information about your library as well! It’s okay if we don’t share the same tastes in books. Let’s just enjoy being book lovers together.

 

1. My All-Time Favorite Books:

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

 

2. My All-Time Favorite Series:

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Inheritance cycle by Christopher Paolini

Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

 

3. My Favorite YA Books Based On Classic Fairy Tales:

East by Edith Pattou

Goose Girl series by Shannon Hale

Enchanted collection from Gail Carson Levine

 

4. YA Recommendations For Girls:

The Selection series by Kiera Cass

Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld

Protector of the Small series by Tamora Pierce

 

5. YA Recommendations For Boys:

Monster Blood Tattoo series by D.M. Cornish

Maze Runner series by James Dashner

Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

 

6. My Classic Dystopian Favorites:

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

 

7. My Modern YA Dystopian Favorites:

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

Divergent series by Veronica Roth

 

8. My High Fantasy Favorites:

Pern series by Anne McCaffrey

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Oz series by L. Frank Baum

 

9. My Low Fantasy Favorites:

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

 

10. My YA Sci-Fi Favorites:

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

 

11. YA Recommendations for Dragon Lovers:

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

Eon/a by Alison Goodman

 

12. My Favorite Fantasy Anthologies:

Half-Human edited by Bruce Coville

Firebird anthologies edited by Sharyn November

The Dragon Book edited by Jack Dann and Gardner R. Dozois

 

13. My Favorite Shakespearean Works:

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Romeo and Juliet

Taming of the Shrew

 

14. Movies Based On My Favorite Books That You Should See:

The Harry Potter series (2001-11)

The Host (2013)

Pride and Prejudice (1995)

 

15. Movies Based On My Favorite Books That You Should Never See:

Inkheart (2008)

Eragon (2006)

Ender’s Game (2013)

 

You can also follow me on Goodreads. I don’t have a lot of time to spend on there updating. My online “to read” list is really one of five…but you should join Goodreads anyway. It’s awesome! You can find all of the above titles online as well.

Alright, I want to know what your library looks like. Get your nerd on…

6 thoughts on “The Dragon’s Library

    1. The full series is:

      1. The Goose Girl
      2. Enna Burning
      3. River Secrets
      4. Forest Born

      Each book follows another character that was introduced in the first book. I really hope she continues the series, because I’ve always wanted to know more about Conrad.

      In the meantime, I highly reccomend her other series the Princess Academy books.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks – I’ll look out for them: I really enjoyed Goose Girl.
        Have you ever read the Juliet Marieller’s Daughter of the Forest, I think it was called? Based on an Irish story about a girl having to save her seven brothers who were turned into swans by the evil stepmother – well worth a read.

        Like

  1. It’s been awhile, but I do recognize the title. I believe that, like the Goose Girl, it started a bit slow and became more enchanting as the tale went on. I love retellings of classic fairy tales. This one is based on an old Celtic story. Maybe I should give it another look :). Thank you!

    Like

  2. I didn’t know you read Fahrenheit 451?! If you liked a book by Ray Bradbury, you should read “Something Wicked This Way Comes” or “The Martian Chronicles.” And The Host isn’t all that original! It sounds a whole lot like Invasion of the Body Snatchers and a little like the Goa’uld from Stargate…except both of those critters were very evil and sought to enslave humanity. Why do you like it? :-* I love you, Wife

    Like

    1. Yeah, I had to do some creative researching for my freshman dissertation on Dystopias. “Freshman” is the key…I’m not sure how proud of it I am now…but the research is still solid. Now I wish I had time to dig it up and expand on it. Grrr more side projects 😛

      The characters are what really drew me to The Host. I can’t even describe the “feels” I get from them. It sounds like someone might enjoy a refresher on “The Hero with a Thousand Faces.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

